About the Common Council

The Common Council is the legislative body of the City Of Peekskill and is comprised of seven members: six councilpersons and the Mayor. The Mayor is the presiding officer of the Common Council and if absent the presiding officer shall be the Deputy Mayor or a council member designated to act as Mayor in his/her absence or emergency. The Common Council designates the order of precedence among its members to serve as Mayor in the event of absences or emergencies. All Council members, with the exception of the Mayor, are elected to serve a term of four years. The Mayor is elected to serve a two-year term. A simple majority of the Common Council, including the Mayor or his designee, shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The Common Council meets every Monday for Committee of the Whole work sessions. Common Council Meetings are held on succeeding Monday following the Committee of the Whole work session. During summer hours the Common Council will hold at least one Committee of the Whole work session and Common Council meeting during the months of July and August. Special meetings may occur, as the Common Council deems necessary.

Common Council Personal Bios: